Ambient Bliss: Ciinchel – Stereo Stasis

Artist: Cinchel

Title: Stereo Stasis

Released: Summer 2012

Label: (self-released)

Format: vinyl LP (limited edition of 100 in handmade sleeve), digital

Genre: Ambient, Drone

It’s not often I am able to get my hands on ambient on vinyl.  It’s even less often I can find ambient vinyl that’s self-released.   Here’s one such record created by Chicago based drone guru, Cinchel.  Cinchel is not new to the ‘scene,’ having released material both digitally via his bandcamp and via cassette on ‘Spective Audio in 2010.

2012 finds Cinchel in a guitar oriented ambient and drone dream state.  Listening to the first two of the three tracks, you might not really have guessed that the guitar was the instrument of choice.  Cinchel masterfully toys and draws out wondrous sounds with it, creating something wholly unique – a sort of subdued melody that quickly gets swept up in a gentle haze of other subtle melodies.  One can only imagine how many pedals this traveled through before finding its way onto the computer and manipulated further.

And I think that is what makes this release so captivating.  Sure, it’s clearly a drone album but it leans on superbly gentle and calm melodies, making it quite atmospheric and not as noisy as other drone records I’m familiar with.  Yes, there is quite a bit of sonic tweaking and some higher pitched sounds, but there are just as many low, deep, and soothing chords.  It’s as engaging as it is relaxing, if that makes sense.  It’s lively and it’s calming.  There’s a lot going on in the background if you lend an ear; this isn’t an ordinary drone album.

The album features three tracks; each one is brilliantly deep and I find myself replaying the entirety of the album a lot.  I will admit that this album impressed me.  It’s so much more than a drone record and I’m certain you’ll feel the same way once you hear it.  This sounds amazing on vinyl and I would urge you to grab a copy while they last.  It’s also up for grabs digitally.  Check out Cinchel and enjoy!

4.8 out of 5.

About Fox Meadow

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment