Cinchel – 10 Becomes a Dozen

Artist: Cinchel
Title  10 Becomes a Dozen
Released: 4/21/2022
Label: self released
Format: cassette (limited edition of 50), digital
Genres: drone, ambient

I’ve reviewed a few releases by Cinchel back when I ran this blog a bit more regularly.  There was an interview, too (https://tuningintoobscure.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/an-interview-with-cinchel/).

Cinchel features three tracks on this wonderful cassette, each a different take on some lovely guitar/feedback/amp drone. Though, I don’t feel that the term “drone” really does this justice. The guitar plucking, bowing, clanging and the resulting feedback almost give it a zen like quality. I keep getting lost in the sound and finding myself floating along on a gentle ride.

Each track clocks in between  19 and 23 minutes, giving the listener ample to time to drift. It amazes me how much texture and variance can occur when all of the sounds are layered together.  It was said that a piano was used via e-bow and I wonder where the guitar ends and the piano begins. Perhaps that doesn’t matter so much since it is all swirling together into an amorphous pool of sound. The end result is amazing regardless.

I truly enjoyed this. There’s something magical about this particular type of drone music that offers a warmth you don’t really get from other genres. I’d highly recommend this tape. It’s a deep ride

5 yips out of 5.

Get a copy here

https://cinchel.bandcamp.com/album/10-becomes-a-dozen

About Fox Meadow

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in ambient music, cassette, chill out, drone, electronic music, experimental music, foxes rule, ok?, guitar drone, self released ambient music, space ambient and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment