New Rock for Late June 2014

The Pale Faces – Guru / Nature Calls 7”+DVD – Punk Fox

Since Punk Fox does not have or want a webpage or Facebook, getting vinyl in the mail from them to review is always a welcomed and awesome surprise.  In this lovely package came a shiny blue 7” from the Pale Faces.  Two sides of wild psychedelic perfection. It’s noisy, freaky and crazy.  I Love it.  It’s one of the most unique sounding psyche release I’ve had the pleasure of spinning.  And if the two tracks on this single, there’s a DVD that comes along with it. It’s packed with wild videos features a plethora of new trcks set to incredible off the wall videos which you kind of just have to see… they’re a mix of fantasy, energetic live footage of shows and all sorts of other crazy visual goodness.  It really makes me want to check out more from the band (4.9 out of 5) – Thank you Punk Fox!

Various Artists – One Dollar Holler – KERCHOW! Records

Twenty seven tracks jam packed into one sweet tape (for just a buck!).  There’s a ton of variety here with genres ranging from indie rock to folk, lo fi indie pop, noise, experimental, punk, electro punk and a mix of other intense stuff.  It features bands/artists that I’ve not heard anywhere else before (except for one or two of them) and it’s an awesome way to check out a massive amount of talent.  Featured on this cassette are Use the Boost!, Stars Are Insane, DJ Fuzzy Viking, Guitar Wizards of the Future and a literal ton of others. Seriously, this cassette is well worth your time and cash. Talk about a bang for your buck!  (5 out of 5)

Close Lobsters – Kunstwerk in Spacetime EP – Shelflife

A new single by long-time rockers, Close Lobsters!  “Kunstwerk” is the German word for “work of art,” and I’d say that’s exactly what the band has to offer here.  A brilliant blend of indie pop, indie rock and jangle meet up with flawless songwriting and engaging instrumentation.  I tried to draw some comparisons to other groups to nail down their sound and it wound up being more of a case where this band is rather unique; there are hints of influences for sure but they definitely wave their own flag.  This is a great single and it’s great to see the band is still jamming after all of these years! (4.9 out of 5)

The Luxemburg Signal — Distant Drive – Shelflife

As the needle drops, I’m hit with sweet indie pop that reminds me right away of Splendora, Breeders and Beth Orton and a pinch of Veruca Salt.  Two very strong and entrancingly accessible tracks mark this strong debut 7 inch.  And go ahead and call me crazy but I swear I hear a hint of REM on the b-side, which of course makes me LOVE this all the more!  Flawless debut! Ultra eager to hear more! (5 out of 5)

 

About Fox Meadow

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment