Overdriven Dreams – Four Trembles on an Imagined Occasion


I was quite pleased to see this in my inbox a few days ago. The rain was coming down heavily, pelting my windows, as I started listening to this four track set. As the soft, dark tones of the opening track began to rise, it fit astonishingly well with said raindrops. Everything for that moment was perfect.

This set was compiled from live sessions, according to its release page on Bandcamp. The material here is blissfully dark and misty-melodic, echoed and wandering through thick haze. Like many of the other drone pieces I’ve written about in the past, this is wonderfully mellow as much as it is engaging and thought provoking. I enjoy drones that don’t bury the listener in blistering noise. This release gently guides the listener through a soundscape that’s mystical and captivating.

The drones here at times meld with space ambient though they never stray too far out of line. If one adheres to the song titles as a means to experience the music, these work perfectly as emotive pieces and concepts. Seeing as most of this artist’s work is made from manipulated sounds on tapes and reels, I can imagine the amount of work that went into this.

And as I finish playing through this for a second time, thunder is rolling from the southern sky. Again, fitting. Very fitting.

This album is a great follow up to its predecessor and well worth checking out. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did. Maybe crank this up during a rain shower or thunderstorm like I did. Turn on, tune in and drop out.


https://overdrivendreams.bandcamp.com/album/four-trembles-on-an-imagined-occasion

About Fox Meadow

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in 2020s ambient, 2024 ambient, ambient EPs, ambient music, ambient on small labels and bandcamp, chill out, dark ambient, drone, experimental music, foxes rule, ok?, self released ambient music, space ambient and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment