Akkya – Three EPs

Three EPs by Akkya

Having been surfing on Terminal Radio transmissions lately and skulking about the Boards, it occurred to me that it’s been a while since we last checked in on Akkya.  Previously, Akkya’s released Abandoned Future Perfect which has seen a release on City Wall along with three remix EPs and one other release entitled “Tablet VII”.  Ahead of a new album, there are three EPs up on Soundcloud for streaming that we’ll look at today.

Earthling EP

Clocking in at over twelve minutes, this Ep travels quite a bit soundwise, ranging from atmospheric scapes to FSOL-styled ambience, “A Tiny Constellation that is Dying in the Corner of the Sky” travels, much like how the stars streak across the sky as the Earth rotates ever onward.  It’s a track that I’ve played at least a dozen times while lying on the floor and daydreaming. It’s captivating and at the same time, it frees my mind.  In that sense, it accomplishes its EP namesake: I’m an Earthling gazing up at the stars.  This is brilliant.  (5 out of 5)

Lonely Child EP

(track one) (track two) (track three)

Things kick off here with the track “From an Imprisoned Room I See” which in itself could be a Van Gogh reference.  The track is layered richly with synth, samples and sounds, giving this a VERY well composed structure and feeling.  However, its not afraid to dart back into darker, somewhat minimal scapes, giving it an isolated and yet dreamy feel.  This is a very powerful way to start this EP.  The next two tracks, “The Rains Over the Land” and “Ayahuassa” we get some string and a little bit of guitar action, bringing some interesting new directions and feelings into the mix.  This EP as a whole is very earthly, almost putting me in the same zone when I spin “Lifeforms” and it really makes me wonder why Akkya’s not enjoyed too many physical releases of his material. Seriously, world, you don’t know what you’re missing. (% out of 5)

Transmission EP

(+track one + video) (Track two) (track three)

The third EP features three tracks, the first two of which really play off of each other.  The opener, “Distant Transmission,” is a strong track, giving me the feeling that even though the transmission in this case may be distant, it is coming in loud and clear. The second track, “Response Transmission” builds in a similar way as the opening track but is softer, somewhat gentler, as if the response itself is coming in from even farther away.  The final track is “Encoded Transmission.”  It is softer still, as if it’s a hidden message compiled from background noise from the previous transmissions, or at least that’s where my imagination went to.  A brilliant way to close this EP! (4.8 out of 5)

Summery:

Seriously, these were superb EPs and much like FSOL or the material from the other folks on the FSOL Board, I’m blown away that Akkya doesn’t have physical CDs out yet via a label. I mean, I’m thrilled the earlier works got a release digitally but these EPs deserve the same treatment.  If you’re following Terminal Radio, FSOL, Off Land, Ross Baker, Loose Link and Akkya’s previous material, you’re going to love this.  Sorry it took me two months to get this post up!

Seriously, these were superb EPs and much like FSOL or the material from the other folks on the FSOL Board, I’m blown away that Akkya doesn’t have physical CDs out yet via a label. I mean, I’m thrilled the earlier works got a release digitally but these EPs deserve the same treatment.  If you’re following Terminal Radio, FSOL, Off Land, Ross Baker, Loose Link and Akkya’s previous material, you’re going to love this.  Sorry it took me two months to get this post up!

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

