Punk Fox Mini Eruption!

XOF

Les Chausettes – Kate / Volcanoes – 7” – XOF004

Vancouver’s own Les Chausettes bring two brilliant tracks to life on this limited edition lipstick pink 7inch.  The kit describes this band as a blend of 60s surf with lo-fi punky pop and upon spinning this record, I’m adding garage and a pinch of twee to the mix. The A-side is a slower jam, with a playful organ and delightfully sweet, bordering on lustful.  A B-side is a lot faster, leaning more on the punk side of thinks. My God, this is a fun single.  Fans of The Vaselines, September Girls, Veruca Salt and Dum Dum Girls will love this.  Nice tracks for a physical release debut!  (4.9 out of 5)

ist – Boyfriend – 7” – XOF003

Limited to just 320 copies, this shiny little 7inch is packed with a mean punch.  The A-side, while angry as hell / jealous, is relatable.  Ever had a crush on someone so bad that you kind of grow to despise the person they’re with? This song is for you.  The lyrics are so damn catchy here that I know I’m going to find myself singing this at work.  The B-side is an alternative take/mix of the title track and honestly, I love this song enough where I don’t ever see myself growing tired of it.  (4.8 out of 5)

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

