Rock Reviews for Early June 2014

Restaurnaut – FAHF2 – Kerchow Records

Recorded on tape for tape, these lo-fi folk gods create unique poetic yet to-the-point lyrics that are not only catchy, but engaging.  These are wonderfully original sounding tunes that are currently stuck in my head.  It’s noisy due to its wonderfully lo-fi nature, but that is very much a part of its charm.  This is very accessible and it’s a great introduction to the band. I hear there is a second cassette out and if that’s true, I WANT IT! (4.9 out of 5)

Lost Harbors – Into the Failing Light – Liminal Noise

A wild and somewhat darker than dark mixture of ambient, dark ambient, drone, folk, noise folk and acoustic music bring this six-track album to life.  This is a brilliant new sounds here, and while I have heard a few releases from other groups kind of dabble in this “genre,” maybe just one other have actually mixed these elements together into a coherent whole.  It’s an album that brings the death of winter to one’s soul to the surface and the lyrics reflect that quite a bit. And while there are a few tracks that feel lighter and rely more on acoustic guitar than electronic or guitar ambience/drone, this piece does not break stride.  Start to finish, it’s a ride that makes me shiver.  (4.8 out of 5)

Layne Garret – Guitar Tape Winter 2014 – Question the Truth Noise

Experiments in noise and sound with guitar and tape.  This is some pretty interesting stuff; the guitar isn’t plucked so much as poked, scraped and manipulated in some intriguing new ways.  I remember doing a recording session like this just once with a guitar my brother smashed at one of his shows, though the CD I burned it to is missing…  so, playing this cassette really reminds of that hot summer day we plugged that smashed guitar in and hammered its mangled strings.  The sound here is not harsh; in fact, it really draws me in.  I’d call this tape a success.  (4.7 out of 5) – I also love the fact it’s recorded over some old Christmas tape and even the original cover art is repurposed and repainted.

 

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

