New Rock for Mid March 2014 Part Two – The Soft Power Records Episode

Soft Power !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Wharves / The Rosy Crucifixion – Split LP

From the very opening track on either side of the record, I knew this split LP was a true gem. Side A is by The Wharves and remind me is a heavier, more melodic Vaselines. The songwriting and vocals are just amazing. Charting somewhere between pop, melodic psychedelic pop, garage rock and punk, this half of the record is breathtaking.   Flip it over, and enter The Rosy Crucifixion! The tempo picks up a bit here and leans a little closer to garage/punk than Side A. It’s blissful, slightly lo fi and catchy. Damn, this side of the LP really draws me in! Over all, this split LP is superb and fans of either band will love this, as well as for fans of the Vaselines, September Girls, the Doors, and Dott. (5 out of 5)

Blood of the Bull – The Bend Over EP 12”

More sweet rock with female vocals! Fusing a little bit more electronic elements into this sweet-cynical rock – pop mixture, this EP resembles a bit of Aggi Doom, but that’s maybe because it shares one of its members here. I think my favorite track on this has to be “Hold Your Head Up High And Go Fuck Yourself.” Enough said right there. Fans of Aggi Doom, Ladytron, Air, Dott and the Vaselines will die for this EP. Another release where I ask, where has this been all of my life? The message behind this recording is certainly one I can get behind. (5 out of 5)

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

