The Seabreezers — Meet The Seabreezers EP

Untitled

Artist: The Seabreezers

Title: Meet the Seabreezers EP

Released: Sept 2013

Label: (Self-released)

Format: CD

Genre: surf rock, garage rock

Here’s a band I’ve been eying for a long time now, partly because I know one of the guitar players – we used to work together.  Also, they’re one of the few active surf rock groups in the greater Rochester area that I am aware of—that is to say if there are others, I’m not terribly familiar with them, which is a shame (pssst! That’s your cue to send me stuff if you’re one of the groups that I don’t know about!)

So, anyway, the Seabreezers have their debut EP coming out VERY soon and they’ve graciously sent me an advance digital copy for review.  It’s a five track piece of rock candy, but it packs a nice punch.  The majority of the tracks here are instrumental, which hooked me in straight away.  Typically if I am surfing the radio here in Rochester, and there happens to be surf and garage rock on the air, it is 80% likely to have vocals, so having a few new, juicy instrumentals on my plate makes me smile.

It’s a very fresh sound and it pushes the genre in a slightly more advanced direction.  It is definitely SURF but there are some underlying elements that poke their heads out now and then that give it a sharp edge that I find rather addictive.  “Moose Hips” and “Screaming Eagle” stand out to me right away (a reference to our days working games at the hockey team, Tony?) while “Peppermint Man” steals the show.  This track is solid from start to finish, complete with clever lyrics, layered backing vocals and sophisticatedly stylized surf goodness.  It’s a cover tune, but they do a superb rendition of it.  The same could be said of their cover of “Diamond Head.”  “Cold Surf,” another original, is a perfect opening piece.

This EP is a breath of fresh air.  I was lucky to catch a few of their demos that were passed around the internet and I knew something good was going to get released officially very soon.  And it’s nigh!  Like their Facebook Page for the official dates and where they will be jamming in the near future.  (4.8 out of 5).

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

