Ambient Bliss: Lunar Testing Lab – Into The Dark Distance

LTL final

Artist: Lunar Testing Lab

Title: Into The Dark Distance

Released: July, 2013

Label: Secret Station

Format: digital

Genre: Ambient, organic ambient, space ambient

LTL returns with a new album with the proceeds going toward the Keystone Trails Association.   As I’m sure I have mentioned before, anything LTL has done has been solid gold.  This album is no exception to that.

It opens with a simple yet sweet melody called “A Vacant Sky,” a track that’ll be stuck in my head for the rest of my life – I mean that in a good way.  The album hereafter glides between gentle, warm tracks, engaging beats and atmospheric space ambient.  It’s a trip between the forest and the stars.  Each track creates its own section of space and time, enveloping me in its own world and then releasing me gently into the next track.

The sound here picks up right where the previous album left off, making the last three releases kind of like a set, of sorts.  If you played through them all in a sitting, it would be the ultimate ambient suite.  That’s pretty amazing in itself.

This album is flawless and if this truly is the final LTL album, this is the perfect place to close the project.  It makes want to replay every LTL album I have over and over again in chronological order, savoring each one until I finally round things out with this album.  Fans of LTL will not be disappointed, as will fans of Biosphere, Red Falcon Projects and Namlook.

That said, go and buy this album right NOW.  It goes for a good cause and this will be the last we’ll see of LTL.   I’m going to hold out hope for at least one more EP and maybe a remix compilation… but until then, farewell, space cowboy!  Thanks for the ride!

(4.9 out of 5)

 

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

