She and Him – Volume 3

sh3

Artist: She and Him

Title: Vol. 3

Released: 2013

Label: Merge Records, Double Six Recordings

Format: CD, LP, cassette, digital

Genre: folk, indie pop, pop rock, rock

[ I know this is a bit more ‘mainstream’ but I figured I’d share my thoughts on it ]

Actress Zooey Deschanel teams up with folk maven M Ward and releases “Volume 3,” technically the fourth album under their belts if you count their holiday compilation.

I was expecting something folky sounding when I was looking into this album online after spotting it for sale at the local shop.  I was surprised to get what almost sounded like a modernized version of 50s styled rock/pop.  Pleasantly surprised.  As the album progressed, I picked up on the folk elements but there was also a fine mixture of indie and pop rock.

The songwriting is fairly decent over all.  Deschanel and Ward make a good team creating engaging and catchy lyrics.  The three cover tunes that appear here are done extremely well (“Sunday Girl,” “Baby,” and “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me.”) to the point that at first, I wasn’t aware they were covers… except for the Harry Noble composition because you can’t get more vintage sounding than that.  So I guess it is safe to say the album as a whole gels together very nicely.  I don’t find any track dull or worthy of a skip.

So, should you pick this up?  While the sound here is slightly retrofuturistic, it’s catchy and fun, hinting at older styles but still comes off as modern.  Each track is flawless and worthy of replays.  Fans of their earlier releases should be thrilled and first time fans should not be disappointed.  I certainly was content.

4.8 out of 5.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

