TinyForest – WorkFlow EP

tf wf

Artist:  TinyForest

Title: WorkFlow EP

Label: Dilated Time Records

Released: May 2013

Format: Digital

Genre: electronica, experimental, ambient, trip hop

From the newly formed Dilated Time Records comes TinyForest’s sixth release. Right away, I’m not entirely sure how to describe this EP.

As to the best of my ability, I have been trying to keep up with the newer trends in both the underground circles and the few eruptions from the movements that wind up in the mainstream.  However, it’s difficult trying to remember the names of different genres as electronic music as a whole seems to be evolving at such an astonishing rate in a million different directions.  Sometimes there isn’t much difference between the new genres and other times, there are huge, vast differencet.  So, if I get any terms wrong here, forgive me.

TinyForest creates a lush, rich synth’n’sample based landscape on this EP, putting us  somewhere between a hazy dance floor and an ancient forest.  The beats on each track hint at dub, techno, trip hop and house while the snyth, and the hazy, textured and manipulated vocal samples give this a house, footwork, ambient, wonky and purple feel (yes, purple is a genre…apparently).  So when you mix these things together, you get something so fresh, so mellow, so danceable and hazy that one can easily get lost in it.

The tracks themselves are fairly uniform on the EP though each creates its own unique universe of beats, synth and sliced up vocal samples that become instruments of synth and percussion themselves.  I’ve heard other tracks from different artists using the same method but overall, TinyForest keeps things sounding fresh, and fun.  The track, “FinalsWeek” is a good example of this.  I found this one quite addicting.  There are two remixes on this EP, one by TinyForest and the other by Paperwolf, who might have a release coming out on Dilated Time soon as well.

My overall impression of this album?  It’s good.  I’ve heard other works in this genre (whatever genre it is) before and have liked what I’ve heard but this just makes me fall in love with it completely.  So much so that I’m hunting down other releases by this artist and Paperwolf,  Fans of Flying Lotus, XXYYXX, and followers of the Elektrobank Radio Show via WBER in Rochester, New York will love this album.

5 out of 5

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

