7” of Love – May 2013 Edition (episode 13)

Artist: R Stevie Moore

Title: I missed July / I Traded My Heart for Your Parts

Released: 2013

Label: Sweaters and Pearls

Long time rocker, R. Stevie Moore, with his 40+ year career, picked two tracks from his massive archive for release here.  The first of which is 1978’s “I Missed July.”  This is great:  It’s kind of this garage-y styled track but it’s mixed with elements of psyche, experimentalism, surf, pop, and even folk.  Sweet vocal harmonies layer in with twangy guitars and it is at this point I realize how blessed we are to be getting this track repressed here.  The B-side, “Traded My Heart for Your Parts,” was originally recorded and released in 1994  This is a gentle track, luring me in with its swaying and slow style guitar and dreamy vocals.  Nice runout groove vocal sample there!  Funny!  Didi I mention it is pressed on nice red vinyl?    All right, I’m officially a fan.  (4.8 out of 5)

Artist: Tieranniesaur

Title: DIYSCO / Horses With Melting Eyes

Released: May 27th, 2013

Label: Soft Power

From Dublin comes this neat little vinyl.  This little gem follows on the heels of their LP, “DIYSCO” which came out a few days ago on the Popical Island label.  At first glance, this is a clever mix of electro pop, funk, indie rock and disco… reminds me a bit of MGNT, Foxy Shazam and We Are Wolves.  This is a lot of fun – a lot of FUNK.  Dig it.  The B-side launches with some serious piano and synth and a rough and buzzed psyche hum.  It’s on the more relaxed side of things, striking up thick melodies and yet, not losing touch with the disco overtones but not making it obvious, either.  It’s fair to say that the band has two strong tracks here worthy of a prime 7 inch.  It really makes me hungry for the LP! (4.8 out of 5)

Artist: The Dead Records / Laura K Balke

Title: Winter Clothes / I Can Only Run

Released: 2013

Label: Usonian

A split release!  The A-side features the Dead Records rocking out with the track “Winter Clothes,” a bittersweet piece about ‘wishing I didn’t have to leave….’  It’s catchy and full of a poppy indie charm that certainly has sparked my interest in the band. On the flip side, Laura K. Balke lures me in with a sweet guitar chord and a brilliantly crafted set of lyrics.  This is blended in effortlessly with gentle indie rock with a dash of pop and blues, which gives this track infinite replay value.  Split singles are great as they give you a taste of two or more talents, hoping that by hearing them that you will want to hear more.  I would say earnestly that this split has succeeded.  I want more.  (4/8 out of 5)

Artist: Waker Glass

Title: Neighborhood Party

Released: May 21st, 2013

Label: Mersea Recordings

Detroit area rockers, Waker Glass, explode on this 7” with some alternative blues that sounds so haunting that I was instantly hooked.  The vocals, with its raspy Tom Waits-esque-ness, give this opening track such a strange and spooky vibe.  I love it to death.  The B-side, “Widow’s Talk,” has a melancholy feel but it draws you in; there’s no escape.  I find myself wanting to know more about this world the band is painting for us.  The lyrics on both tracks are superbly crafted, shattering any expectations I had.  This’ll be another vinyl I will be achying to get my paws on physically upon its release.  (4.9 out of 5)

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7” of Love – May 2013 Edition (episode 13)

  1. Jason says:

    Thanks man! Great review, glad to get the word out about R. Stevie, he’s the best.

Leave a Reply

