Updates for Mid December

Howdy folks!

Again, sorry for vanishing.  I needed some time to myself after a death in the family.  And while the memorial service is still some time away, I found myself just not knowing what to do with myself.  Sometimes, keeping busy is the best way to cope.  So here are some updates I’ve been meaning to post for a while from the music world…

The Red Falcon Projects have a limited reissue of their “Ice Warz ’85” mini album.  It was originally released via I, Absentee records in 2009, so if you missed your chase to score a copy then, you certainly can now.  I recall being absolutely psyched when this release came out after hearing some Falcon fresh material through remixes and a track on the ‘Birth Certificate’ compilation.  Seriously, go score a copy right now!  This CD still ranks as one of my favorites and it ought to be one of yours!  Scope out their Facebook for more info!

Power Pill Fist debuts on I, Absentee with e new 7” single!  Yes, that’s right!  The Atari noise maven will be releasing a limited edition SQUARE shaped 7” vinyl very soon; preorders are up right now!  While there’s no official number as to how many copies will be pressed, rest assured it’ll be less than or near 100, so it’d be wise to preorder a copy like, immediately.  This release is the precursor to a new full length album due out sometime in 2013.  I’m beyond excited for that!  PPF’s releases on Graveface Records ( “Extra Life” and “Kongmanivong“) were amazing journeys through psychedelic and blisteringly awesome Atari-generated noise.  This new release promises live drums  being added to the mix, which will definitely add a new element to the party.  Preorder here!

Jazz musician Dave Brubeck Dies at age 91.  When I was a little kid, my dad would play “Take Five” and I would sit in front of the turntable, amazed and entranced.  I’d listen to it over and over again until I’d eventually fall asleep.  Years later, I slowly started to rediscover my like for jazz, gradually easing myself back into the genre I used to love so much as a child but had forgotten about growing up.  I have a small stack of Brubeck records and now, hearing about his death, makes me treasure them that much more.  Genius doesn’t even begin to describe you, Mr. Brubeck.

Legendary Sitarist Ravi Shankar dies at age 92.  The sitar master who influenced The Beatles, bedazzled concert goers at Woodstock, Monteray and the Concert for Bangladesh, was in poor health and had undergone surgery recently to help with heart and upper respiratory issues and while the operations was successful, according to an article posted in the Orlando Sentinel, Shankar was unable to recover.  You shall be missed, Shankar!

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

