7″ of Love ep 11 – Dr Manhattan / Dormlife – Hot Sauce / Weak Sauce

Artist: Dr Manhattan / Dormlife

Title: Hot Sauce / Weak Sauce

Released: 2011

Label: Alarm Clock Revolution / Duck Phone Records

Format: 7” vinyl (limited edition of 500 on red vinyl)

Genre: indie rock

I was quite happy to find this sitting in my mailbox after a particularly rainy day at work.  Music in my mailbox is always a good thing.

All righty, so here we have two great groups on one pretty red record. As I understand it, this sweet thing was released to celebrate a reunion show between these two bands, plus a third.  As far as I know, it’s the first vinyl ACR has released.  Shall we dive in?

A-Side:  Originally a discarded track from Dr Manhattan’s second LP, ‘Jam Dreams,” makes a clear motif right away.  “Everyone around me is eating this shit / with enough hot sauce, anything can taste good.  Everyone around me is drinking this shit / with enough cold shots, anyone can sing along…”   It’s a catchy, almost playful, call and answer styled of song, in a way.  The track itself is a bouncy and engaging form of indie rock.  The sound is nice mix of The Format, Cold War Kids, Iron and Wine and a bit of Cake.  It’s a blend of indie rock and indie pop and it is well worth a listen.

B-Side: Much in the same fashion as the A-side, this is a discarded track from Dormlife’s third album, “Mustard is the New Ketchup.” The vocals are quite superb, and that’s a good start.  The music itself reminds me of a mixture of radio-play-friendly indie rock, but it’s mixed with a nice dose of experimental vibes, a hint of jangle and math… maybe that’s just what I’m getting, but I’m trying to say there’s a nice dose of familiarity here blended with some brilliantly unique aspects.  Thus, over all, this track is awesome.  But don’t ask me to draw comparisons; I honestly can’t.  It’s a standout for sure.

Final Thoughts: Buy this record, dudes.  This is music that can be enjoyed both by folks who are just getting into indie rock and by folks who are huge fans of the genre.  I really enjoyed it, personally, and wouldn’t mind getting my paws on some other material from both bands.

4.8 out of 5.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

