Updates: The I.D., and some Electronic Music History

Howdy folks

Sorry for the string of delays.  Between work, getting injured again and trying to draft story ideas for my other job at the WEC, I’ve not had a lot of time to really just chill.  So, it’s obviously been some time since I posted anything of substance.  Sorry about that.

So, here are a few things that’ve caught my eye lately.  Perhaps they’ll catch yours, too.

–          The ID sent me some info about some new material coming out.  They’re a four piece band with members from all over the place, currently residing in London.  Now, they sent me a few tunes ages ago but thanks to my wild schedule, I’ve just now heard it.  Sorry, guys.  Anyway, I really like it.  Their single, “A Bigger Picture,” is coming out in July via Duchamp Records.  Scope out their Soundcloud or their main site for audio.  They’ve been compared to The Cure in terms of sound, but I think they’re much more than that.  Some sort of brilliant indie / post punk melodic awesomeness, in my eyes.  And for those of you who are in their area, they’re having a release party for their single at the Barfly on July 27th.  Go and scope them out!

–          For those of you interested in the history of electronic music as we know it, I stumbled across a documentary that maps it out rather well.  It was filmed in 2008 but as far as I know, the DVD was just released recently (and allegedly only in Australia).  It’s called “Kraftwerk, and the Electronic Revolution” and I have to say, it was wonderfully compiled and very informative.  Yes, it does center a bit around Kraftwerk, but it really shines a light on the German experimental/art rock ‘movement’ that became hrautrock/kosmische, that quickly gave birth to electronic music.  It features interviews with members of Tangerine Dream, Kluster, Kraftwerk and Noises and other folks.  It’s awesome.  There is a version of this on youtube split into 19 parts. Enjoy it and push for a US release of the DVD!

More to come soon, I hope!

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

