The Story of Blue Metal Bomb

I met Sean Holmes during my senior year of high school, and despite sharing the same English class, we rarely spoke to each other.  It wasn’t until we wound up auditioning for a musical alongside mutual friends that we actually started to shoot the breeze.  We were music geeks, and we became friends rather quickly.  I eventually wound up dropping out of the musical a few weeks before our first show due to an overwhelming schedule.  Sean was able to stay in it, playing the father of the main character.

After graduation, summer rolled in.  We hung out often and formed a band.  We called ourselves Blue Metal Bomb, as our music was a blend of blues, grunge and hard rock.  We lacked a drummer and a bassist and I couldn’t play guitar to save my life.  I did some singing and Sean wound up taking on most of the guitar work himself along with songwriting and vocals.  We recorded almost everything we did on cassette tape and eventually converted some of it to CD.

We jammed and wrote music for the next two years, but only did one live show.  It wound up being a two song set in my friend’s living room in front of four people.  It was fun, but ironically, it never was recorded.

Our final jam session came in December of 2005.  I was living in a townhouse in Frederick, MD, working two jobs and readying myself for a move to upstate New York.  Sean came down from Walkersville, a small town just north of me, and we met up with bass player / neighbor, Dan.  It was the only recording session we did with a bass, and it was the most fleshed out that Blue Metal Bomb had been.  We recorded about ten tracks or so that afternoon, many were improvised but a few we wrote up ahead of time.  And sometimes, if we were unlucky, my roommate’s dog, Paige, would come down and bark some backup vocals.

We had one track we were fairly proud of, I remember from that session, called “Cotton Candy Girl.”  It was a song we wrote at work together at the local minor league baseball team earlier that summer, mocking a coworker of ours who had a huge crush on the young lady who sold cotton candy.  He wound up getting fired for spending all of his time with her rather than actually working.  The song was a playful piece; the two of us wrote up the lyrics in about ten minutes.  I wish we could have had the cash to get a studio version of it done.

After I moved to New York, I only saw Sean a few times.  We have yet to set up another jam session.  We’re still in touch when we’re able.

Sean’s in a new band now called Stephen and the Hawkings.  They actually have a drummer, and decent sound recording equipment, and they sound awesome.  They have music galore on their bandcamp you should check out.

Since the good old days, I’ve released some ambient stuff as Lonelyfox and occasionally recorded material with Keith, under our old sound collage project, The Coherent ENcoherence.

And that’s the story of Blue Metal Bomb.  Perhaps one day we’ll have a reunion.  Maybe we’ll jam again and maybe we’ll have a real live show with a real drummer and a bass player.  And maybe we’ll remember to record it.  Who knows…

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

