Music for Mascots – May 2012 Edition

Music For Mascots – Spring 2012 Edition

What I’ve noticed lately as the sport seasons change for me at work is the astonishing change in the music that was played, especially near the end of lacrosse season as we entered playoffs.  I know professional indoor lacrosse attracts a wide variety of fans, so one should expect a wider variety of tunes played in-game to keep folks happy who might have a variety of taste.  Though, I noticed that the tunes were getting more diverse.  We seemed to stray away from the typical mix of hip hop, 80s pop, classic rock, techno, disco and funk, and moving towards more sophisticated electronica, indie, and even folk rock.   It’s an interesting switch, and I am actually kind of happy about it.  It kept things interesting for me while I was hamming it up in the rank eagle suit.

So here’s a list of what I’ve been hearing.  Not all of it is new, but the track selection should give most mascots out there who might be reading this some ideas to spruce up their playlist… or just intrigue you, I don’t know.

The Fratellis – Chelsea Dagger

The Chemical Brothers – Galaxy Bounce

Mumford and Suns – The Cave

Alice in Chains – Man in the Box (edited)

The Wombats – Let’s Dance to Joy Division

David Bowie – Let’s Dance

MGMT – Electric Field

Franz Ferdinand – Take Me Out

Utah Saints – Something Good

Gabin – Doo Uap Doo Uap Doo Uap

Sweet – Fox On The Run

FFF – The Feeling

Kasabian – Reason is Treason

**Obviously, if you’re a mascot and are considering these tracks, preview these for yourself before you ask the sound technician to play these at your game.  You don’t want any random f-bombs to enrage management.  That might put a damper on your night.

As the NLL season winds down and I ease into this year’s baseball season, I can only imagine what I might be in for.  We’re sharing our stadium with two teams this year, and we’re pulling shifts with both, which isn’t horrible, but I’m sure we’ll all be twice as wiped out.

And, on that note, I am finally working on the “mascot memoir” that my friends have asked me to compile.  It’s going to take forever to pull it off since I have ten years of stink, sweat and fur to dig through, but it’ll happen.  As to whether it’ll ever get published…

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

