Music News and Blog Updates for Early April

Some neat stuff out in the world of music….

–           FSOL are releasing “Environments 4” on May 15th on CD.  A digital version will be out on April 30thScope it out!

–          Jack White’s Third Man Records released the world’s first 3RPM record.  Yeah, I know that’s not the newest news, but think about it.  Imagine how much material you can cram on a record that spins that slowly.  As it is, they packed every 7” Blue Series single onto this 12”.  Go here to take a look.  Sadly, it’s no longer available, unless you feel like putting down insane money on eBay.

–          Nirvana is in the news again.  Rumors are floating around about demos from a solo record Kurt was working on prior to his death.  It’s unclear if the demos will ever be assembled onto a release any time soon, but just knowing that they do exist (somewhere) gives a glimmer of hope for many fans out there.  Also, Nirvana members Krist and Dave have reunited and have been recording with Nirvana producer / Garbage drummer Butch Vig, alongside a special guest, who has yet to be named.  I cannot figure out if this is being slated as a Nirvana reunion, despite a facebook post saying “reunited and it feels so good.”  I would have to venture a guess and say it’ll be some sort of new project.  Either way, I’m excited.

And now, some news about TIO:

As we slowly enter mid spring and move into summer, I’ve found myself drifting more into ambient records, and a lot of the recent reviews seem to be reflecting that.  I dug up a lot of ambient releases from my collection and have been sniffing around the web for new / undiscovered ambient albums / releases to perhaps pick up.  This might lead to some neat new interviews and whatnot, but we’ll see where this takes me.

Of course, that’s not to say that I’m going to completely ignore other genres.  Heck, I haven’t even finished that Early Kraftwerk series and it’s been some time since I’ve done a grunge record.  It’s hard to say when some of these will get posted, as I am getting things packed up for a move.  Not going far, just one town over.  But most of my records and CDs are packed, so most of the series are on hold for a few weeks.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

