Aggi Doom !!!

 

Artist: Aggi Doom

Title:  Bring Me The Head B/W Cakewalk

Released: 2012 (May 21)

Label: Soft Power Records

Format: 7” vinyl (edition of 300)

Genre:  punk, indie, new wave, psyche

Glasgow’s own Aggi Doom are soon to release their highly anticipated debut single on the Soft Power label this coming May.  And you should be excited.

Why?  This seven inch gem isn’t something you find every day.  The deft mix of indie rock, psyche, garage and sort of a wild whiff of new wave is shockingly refreshing.  And then I realize, it’s not really new wave that I’m hearing, it’s more like early punk.  I’m reminded a little of the Raincoats or a more in-your-face Vaselines.  And there are vocal harmonies here!  Yes, heaps of lovely and hauntingly melodic whirlwinds of sweetly layered vocals.  This is what makes this band something to hear and definitely a group to keep an eye on.

The first track is all of that and more, not to mention it’s so damn catchy.  “Cake Walk” opens with a cosmic space swoosh that’s sent through some lovely echoes.  It’s soon met with a smooth beat and slick guitar.  Like a forgotten gem from the late 80s, the vocals soar in.  This track is magic.  It reminds me so much of older proto-punk or perhaps some soulful 60s styled rock but infused with its own special sauce.  It’s hard to put my finger on it exactly, but I’m happily in love with this track.

I’m kind of excited for this release and for a future full length.  If you’re into that sort of proto-punk or an indie / new wave groove, you’ll like this.  I found this to be rather hard to resist and it’s honestly been on my mind a lot over the last few days.  You should really scope this out!

4.7 out of 5.

Bandcamp!

 

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

