Midnight Salvage Co

Artist: Midnight Salvage Co

Title: What You Hope For

Released: April 2012

Label: Self released via CD Baby and iTunes

Format: Digital. CD

Genre: rock, alt rock, folk rock

Produced by legendary guru Conrad Uno (Presidents of the USA, Mudhoney, Young Fresh Fellows, etc…) this album packs one hell of a punch.  This is sort of a mix of hard driving rock and folk, something I could drink to by a campfire but also blast while trying to get through traffic.

Some tracks are heavy and harken back to the grunge infused rock of the early 90s while other tracks are on the mellow side, taking on a life of their own.  And yet, at times, some tracks lean on classic rock elements, reminding me a little of Tom Petty.  That all in mind, it’s hard not to like this album.  Sweet guitar workings, piano riffs, occasional harmonica (which I love), folk styled lyrics, wild yet strong vocals and a compelling sound…   Seriously, this is something to be heard.

Tracks like “Nobody Told You,” and “Rock & Roll Baby” are real stand outs for me.  However, I would have to say “New Dress” is by far my favorite.  It’s different from what I’ve heard on here, blending a certain woefulness in using blues, folk and grunge elements.   It’s unprecedented but it pulls me in, and before the song is over, I’ve found myself singing along with the chorus.

All in all, this album surprised me.  The production is spot on and the music in every respect is as well.  The blending of genres and the finely tuned precision of the musical elements is impressive.  Fans of the folky side of rock with a heavier edge will enjoy this.

Check out their webpage and purchase the album here!

4.5 out of 5.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

