Ian Kahl

As I sipped a Dortmunder, trying to keep warm in my living room, I received an email.  It arrived shortly after posting the review for Merch’s LP, and as I read the message, I was surprised.  It wasn’t a press kit, but a very wonderfully composed letter with links to what I think is some of the most personal music I’ve heard in a while.  It desires to be shared.

Artist: !an Kahl

Title: Deliberate: Compilation LP, Part 1

Released: 2011

Label: Self Released via Soundcloud

Format: digital

Genre: Electronica, psyche, new wave, rock, indie rock, lo fi

As I stream the eighteen tracks, I am immediately struck by techniques I enjoy.  There are reversed samples, brilliant instrumentation, clear and well composed vocals and genre references to so many different styles.  And despite the myriad of those genres employed, the set flows perfectly, like water down a gentle brook.

Tracks like “Restored Film Reels” and “Lack of Symmetry” grab me instantly.  Clever blends of electronic music and indie elements are met with precise production.  And lyrically, they’re genius.  Its depth and emotions are effortlessly woven into stories and I am left feeling like there is so much here I can relate to.  I would have to say “Regrets” is one of my personal favorites, but “Frozen Hinges” is a close second.

I wish I had heard this album sooner.  This is something I could listen to while laying on my living room floor, humming along with the melodies and lyrics.  It’s hard to put into words what sort of an experience I get upon listening to this, and it’s not often I can say that.  Perhaps you’ll just have to hear this one for yourself.  Trust me, you’ll enjoy it as much as I have.

I guess if you had to pin point something to compare this to, it would be difficult.  However, I can kind of see some similarities between this and maybe the Flaming Lips, Postal Service, and Iron and Wine.  But, again, this album stands alone like a flawless mountain, and drawing any comparisons wouldn’t do it justice.  This release is truly great.

5 out of 5.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ian Kahl

  1. Pingback: Updates, Early August 2012 « tuningintoobscure

Leave a Reply

