Further Musings

Further Mini Musings

Here are some things that’ve shown up on my radar, in my inbox or just sort of popped up on their own.

–First of all, I was in the coffee shop the other day and I noticed a Chieftains tribute album.  My girlfriend is very much into Irish music, particularly Celtic, Irish punk and Irish folk.  If I had cash, I would have picked it up, as it featured Bon Iver, The Decemberists, Lisa Hannigan and the Low Anthem, to name a few.  It’s looking promising.

–If you haven’t seen the link already, you must go and scope out the new mix on Headphone Commute.  Herd features some new tracks here and Akkya gets some nice material in as well, amongst pieces by FSOL, Orb, Daniel Pemberton, Funckarma, Banco De Gaia, and Seefar, amongst others.  This is a mix for the ages.  Go here to check it out.

–Now, as I understand it, the world of synth pop is growing rather popular, especially these days as it gets that techno edge.  I got a press kit in some time ago that fits in this vein and I figured I’d pass on the news.  Michael Hensley, a newer artist, has a seven track EP on the way.  It’s a strong release, especially lyrically (check out “We Will Recruit Your Kids”).  It promises to be a very interesting release and this guy’s already toured with Freezepop, so expect an impact.  Hensley’s new EP, “Heart Mechanical,” should be out on March 26th.

–As some of you recall, I reviewed the split single between The Copperheads and The Boom Bang in January.  I don’t know if you’ve seen it yet, but The Boom Bang just did a stop-mo video that went viral.  It only took a few days for it to do it, and I was quite surprised to see folks sharing links to this video who’ve never heard of the band or their label before.  I love the video, and if you’re a product of 80s TV like me, you’ll like it too.

–I caught wind of something I’m betting a lot of folks already know about.  I’m a huge Fleet Foxes fan, and I am happy to see a new side project emerging from two of the band’s members.  The project is called Poor Moon, and their debut EP, “Illusion,” is coming out on Sub Pop Records on March 27th.  It’ll be available via CD and 12” EP.  Looking forward to it.

–Lastly, I’m now on Twitter.  Woot!  @Hound_of_Music.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

