UnScene ep. 4- Calabros

Artist: Calabros

Title: Problems EP

Released: 1993

Label: Super Electro Records

Format: 7”

Genre: grunge, garage, psyche, indie, punk

As far as I know, this is the only EP this band pressed, and fortunately for us, it wound up on Steve Turner’s label.  This release ranks among one of my favorite grunge / garage EPs ever.  Makes me wish more material had emerged, or, if there’s more, it would be easier to find.

As the needle hits the vinyl, I’m reminded a bit of Love Battery.  The sound has that slight psyche feel while still kicking in garage and grunge.  The vocals are catchy and stick in your head the easiest.  “In My Room” and “Problems” are no exception.  So far, it’s easy to see why I like this EP so much and have played it so often.

“Stupid” follows a guy as he deals with a very bitchy, needy and gossipy girlfriend.  It’s obvious at this point they’ve split up but the guy still is having issues with her.  The vocals, again, are insanely catchy and the structure of the track is very much in tune with many garage tracks.  This tune is flawless and will be in your head for days.

The final track, “Gonna Eat Me,” is a little haunting.  The tempo gets reduced slightly and the guitar and bass kind of brood.  The song is from a kid’s point of view and how everyone he knows is scary.  This song reminds me a lot of the people in my childhood neighborhood.  Creepy.  Much like the other tracks, this one will get in your head right away.  The lyrics are easy to remember and before long, you’ll find yourself singing along.  I love this track.

Should you buy this?  Yes!  This EP is very accessible and would be a good starting point if you’ve not really toyed with this mix of genres before.  Aside from that, this is very catchy—I can’t really say that enough.  There aren’t too many flaws I can point out here.  I suppose if you like Sinister Six, Love Battery, Flop or Seaweed, you will enjoy this.  Copies are still fairly cheap online, mostly because this piece is so obscure.  This EP alone makes me wish Super Electro was still around today.

5 out of 5.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to UnScene ep. 4- Calabros

  1. Pingback: The Unscene Vol. 5 The No Seattle Compilation | TUNING INTO THE OBSCURE

Leave a Reply

