Updates: Feb

Hello everyone!

Sorry for the lack of posts over the last few weeks.  It’s been a crazy stretch here in wonderful upstate New York.  Firstly, I left my new job after a fellow worker and I discovered that our manager was falsifying documents, removing documents, lying to both staff and to the public about the goings on of the agency and when confronted, she fabricated the evidence and found a creative way to pin the blame back on us staff.  Needless to say, her actions attracted a lot of attention from the agency and she’s being investigated now, but not until after a bunch of us quit and filed reports against her.  Life shouldn’t be so insane, honestly.

To top things off, I’ve been sick with a nasty chest cold over the past three weeks.  I’m on my feet again now, which is good.  Between these two things, I’ve found myself without a lot of free time, and no time to get back to the music.  Now that I’m feeling better and have gone back to my old job at the sports arena, things are slowly returning to normal, more or less.

On that note, here’s some neat stuff that’s piled up that I want to get out to you!

Secret Station Records, home of Lunar Testing Lab, has some neat released still in stock and some new digital releases in the works.  Take a look and check out some of the label’s mixes as well.  I believe there may even be a few copies of the Power Pill Fist DVD for sale.

The Fun Guns are a band from the LA area, with a sound unlike any other.  They bring a powerful fusion of punk, garage, surf and even gospel styled vocals together in a brilliant, blissful way that is sure to please almost anyone.  I’m happy to see that they have several releases for download on their bandcamp, and be sure to check out their Facebook!  So far, my personal favorite has to be “Awful Gospel.”  The sound is unique and the tracks are rather catchy, dark yet sweet, and completely perfect.  Check them out for yourself!

Coming up sooner or later, I was hoping to get a new post up for the UnScene series, focusing on a rather forgotten Seattle area grunge band from the late 80s.  I’ve started composing the article and hope to have the full review up soon.  Also, expect a 7” to follow also in that series, as in a way, it’s relevant to the band I’m reviewing.

Until then, hope all is well!

 

 

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

