A Break from the Norm: A Festival of Links

The internet is vast.  It truly is astounding what is out there, especially in the music world.  Here’s some of the wild stuff I’ve stumbled across at 430am, sleepless in Rochester.

1)      Temporary Residence Limited (label): http://temporaryresidence.com/  Here’s a juicy label that for some reason, I’ve never heard of until a few hours ago, despite owning one of their records… how embarrassing.  It really is worth looking into if you are not familiar with it.  Artists and bands include Mono, Explosions in the Sky, Cex, Sonna, Lumen, The Loved, and many others.

2)      The FSOL Message Board (Forum): http://www.ilovecubus.co.uk/fsolboard/index.php  Here’s a lovely forum geared towards the works of The Future Sound of London and their various side projects.  You can easily get in on some lively discussions and they were kind enough to post a link to my blog (thanks guys!).

3)      Anglophenia (blog):  http://blogs.bbcamerica.com/anglophenia/2011/09/19/nerd-out-to-doctor-who-tunes-a-trock-rock-top-5/  Specifically, this link will take you to an article about TROCK, a mini-genre of rock that focuses on anything and everything related to “Doctor Who.”  Yes, I am a huge Doctor Who fan myself and I kind of find it interesting and somewhat amusing that a few rock bands out there write music based on the
show/books/comics/etc…  It is very much like WROCK (wizard rock) based on Harry Potter.

4)      Moon Glyph (Label):  http://www.moonglyph.com/index.html  Releasing vinyl and cassettes, this label has a nice selection of psyche, garage and other wild noisy rock stuff to make anyone happy.  You can also take a gander at related labels Not Not Fun and Night People Records: (http://notnotfun.com/now.html ) (http://www.raccoo-oo-oon.org/np/index.html ).

I will return to the FSOL series  in a post or two.  I’m officially retied now from the world of sports mascoting and am transitioning into a new job, so my free time has been really just me trying to unwind and filling out paper work.  The music shall return soon, and, since I will finally be making a steady income and not relying on seasonal sports and stinky animal costumes, I will be able to purchase some new records/CDs/cassettes and have them up here for review… unless someone mails me something.

 

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

