Seefeel and Autechre

Artist: Seefeel

Title: Autchre Remix of Spangle by Seefeel

Released: 2003

Label: Polyfusia Records

Format: CD single

Genre: Ambient, Leftfield, IDM

Seefeel was one of those groups that I was too intimidated to even try listening to when I was younger.  I am not sure what it was about them that made me feel so inadequate or unworthy to hear them, but I admit, it took me years to get into them.

Eager to just give them a try, I finally caved and bought my first Seefeel release, which happened to be this single   It was nestled in some corner of my favorite record shop, gazing up at me like a sad and lonely puppy from its spot on the rack.  I forked over the $11 for this single track CD and shuffled home.  I played it once, wrote a simple and brief review on RYM and forgot about it.  And today, I fished it out of the bowels of my record collection for the first time in ages and gave it a spin.    

Seefeel had a knack for creating tracks that charted somewhere in the middle of a web, consisting of post rock, ambient, IDM, and whatever music The Field makes, and while that fascinated me, it also made me feel like I was being kept at a great distance from the music.  Maybe that was just the result of how I feel about this sort of music in general but despite all of my reservations, I keep coming back at some point to give it another go and find that I really do enjoy it.

Autechre, another group that has taken me ages to appreciate, gives this track a nice work over.  The remix is light, haunting, repetitive but strangely entrancing and enchanting.  I couldn’t help but feel like this would be perfect for a documentary on black holes or something—perhaps one day, finding a spot on a compilation called “Music for Astrophysicists.”   Although, calling it space ambient would be inaccurate.

Granted, 12 minutes goes by quickly and I am left aching for more.  This track is minimal but deep and hypnotic and it just comes to an end before you know it.  I suppose it does beg for a repeat spin from time to time.  I almost wish we could see an Autechre vs. Seefeel album come out at some point.

Which brings me to the question, should you buy it?  Well, for fans of both bands, I would say yes because the remix is brilliant and for me, it was a good track to slowly ease myself into the works of both groups.  However, there is the obvious problem about the price.  I got lucky because my chosen record store sometimes doesn’t realize how much an album is worth (or they don’t care) and I can walk out of the store with some rare finds and still have money left over for gas and food.  However, collectors aren’t quite so willing to let things slip away like that, and I have seen this single go for $75 or more online.  This is a good song, but it’s not worth that much money.

5 out of 5.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

