The PPF Experience

As I search for meaning in a meaningless universe, I can take comfort knowing that at least there is always something out there to make me forget my worries and troubles….   So why don’t you come with me and get lost in a Power Pill Fist project?

Artist: Power Pill Fist vs. Mall Security

Title: Byte Marks

Released:  2009

Label: Self released via the Power Pill Fist site

Format: 3” CDr, 3” DVD, limited edition of 100

Genres: Noise, chiptune, experimental

Here’s a self-released limited edition 3” CDr where Mr. Fec teams up with Mr. Lutes, better known as Mall Security.  It comes with a mini-DVD, which is essentially a visual version of the album.  I mean, literally, if the sound had an image, this DVD would be it.

The music here is milkshake of blistering Atari explosions and shrieking circuit bending-esque synth and percussion.  In some ways, this seems noisier than PPF’s sophomore album, but that’s not a bad thing, especially if you team it up with the visuals.  It’s a world of ancient computers and the floppy software of our youth, distorted and visually obliterated until they are almost unrecognizable… truly mind blowing.  I think the strangest parts of the DVD are when they splice footage from old horror or documentary films.  When reconstructed here, it gives everything such a strange new depth… Some of these videos remind me of what appeared on PPF’s “Secret Albino Lover” DVD.  It helps when Lutes helped create some of the videos on that release as well.

In total, there’s just less than twenty minutes of audio/visual here, but what is presented is superb and challenging, and that at times is exactly what I am looking for, rather than just a casual same-old track album.  It makes me eager to see if there will be other collaborative projects between Fec and others aside from the other three now out of print mini-albums.

I should also comment on the packaging.  The envelope came in the mail the other day, all in its huge and important yellowish brown glory.  Inside was the cover for the album, and a large vacuum sealed tin can.  My brother and I filmed the opening of the can, originally intending to post that on the blog, but I’m not sure when we’ll get all of that edited down…  Anyway, it popped open to reveal several stickers, rubber poppers, a fruit roll up, a button and one of those sticky rubbery glow worm things.  To me, this proves that Power Pill Fist is an experience, not just a sound; more so when there are collaborations involved.

All in all, I’d say this is a good mini-album.  I hope this won’t be the last collaboration between Mall Security and PPF, especially if more of PPF’s Werebeard material is in the works.

5 out of 5.

Eventually, I will post a review about the “Secret Albino Lover” DVD, which is a compilation of tracks from the two PPF albums on Graveface Records set to videos and visual assaults.  I just have to finish watching it!

If interested, there are still a few copies of this mini-album available from the Power Pill Fist site:  http://www.powerpillfist.com/

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

