Dreamend

Reposted from my personal blog, October, 2010.


Artist: Dreamend
Title: Maybe We’re making God Sad and Lonely
Released: 2005
Genre: Post rock, Indie, indie instrumental, hauntology

This lovely limited edition LP is pressed on orange and blue vinyl, hand numbered, with a free CD copy of the album in a slim, black cardboard case. So, I can actually kind of preserve the awesome record and play the disk as often as I please in the car. And I spun it for days.

This is a great album. The guitar treatments are echoed and loud, somewhat distorted and yet comforting. There are few tracks with vocals, but that’s perfectly fine with me. This is a strong piece of music as it is.

I would have to say that my favorite track starts off softly and with an old lady’s voice creeping, telling a story about her grandfather who had fought in the civil war and was visited by some sort of ghost while his unit spent the night in an old log cabin in the middle of nowhere. The track was cheery at first, and when she spoke of the ghost, I couldn’t help but feel drawn in. Captivated. I have to wonder where Dreamend dug up the source material for this one. Truly unique and engaging.

I can’t wait to spin the other LP from this project!

4.5 out of 5 stars.

About Nick H.

I'm a geek for music whether it be on vinyl, CD, 78 or whatever. My goal is to sniff out the greated music on Earth, specializing in the obscure. I make music myself as well, mostly ambient and sound collage (1 album out and a few remixes so far). I work full time as a professional mascot (it pays the pills) but will soon retire, i hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

